The next 10 years …

The other night, after my son climbed up on my lap to give me a kiss before bed my daughter hopped up for her turn.

Gosh, I thought, I can barely pick her up anymore. When did that happen? So I asked if she could stay this way forever. Her response: Can I get to 48 inches first so I can ride all the rides at Disney World?

26079_1389865233933_7177355_n

Perfect fit.

Hard to argue with that logic.

I’ve written before about people always telling you how fast your kids grow. Believe me, it’s not a lie. Maren, who was born like five minutes ago, is more than halfway through first grade. Brant is a blink away from 2. How did that happen?

So this week I’ve been thinking about the future for some reason. Maybe it’s because I’m doing a new job, which has allowed me to spend more time with kids in the last five weeks than in the previous five years. But I think what started it was this question: Dad, who do like better, Justin Bieber or One Direction?

Now, first of all, the answer is Justin Bieber (he’s just so darn talented, that Canadian kid). Secondly, it is/was a question I thought I was at least a couple of years away from. It was already a punch in the mouth when the dentist said to get the orthodontist on speed dial, but I’m not sure I’m ready for the boy thing. Not yet.

Good thing is she’s not interested in boys. For now I think it’s the music. I think. It’s not the dreamy eyes or the great hair. I think.

So with that the next 10 years of life flashed before my eyes. I’m wondering how far Justin Bieber or One Direction are into their 15 minutes. And I’m wondering who I need to have on my radar next.

And I’m wondering how long until she is actually is interested in boys. Hopefully long enough that I can shed some pounds to chase them down the street. Guess I better get on that.

Leave a Reply

